One Night in Miami... Original Motion Picture Soundtrack CD

One Night in Miami… (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) accompanies the film directed by Oscar® winner Regina King and written for the screen by Kemp Powers, based on his Olivier-nominated 2013 stage play.

Tony-award and Grammy-award winner Leslie Odom Jr. performs Sam Cooke’s most celebrated repertoire in the film and on the soundtrack album including “You Send Me,” “Chain Gang,” “Good Times” and “A Change Is Gonna Come.” Apart from his performance of the Sam Cooke material, the soundtrack includes “Speak Now,” a powerful original song co-written and performed by Odom. Music from the film’s original score composed by prolific Academy Award® nominee and six-time Grammy® winner Terence Blanchard is featured on the album. The celebrated trumpeter and composer’s recent film credits include Da 5 Bloods, BlacKkKlansman, Harriet, and HBO’s Perry Mason drama series.

Cast member and Grammy®, Emmy and two-time Tony nominee Jeremy Pope portrays R&B great Jackie Wilson in the film, his version of the latter’s “Lonely Teardrops” appears on the soundtrack. Included on the soundtrack album, is a 1964 recording of “Put Me Down Easy” by L.C. Cooke (Sam’s younger brother) written by Sam Cooke for L.C. and features his accompanying vocal as well. SAR Records released “Put Me Down Easy” as well as the organ burner “Greazee” by Billy Preston which also appears on the soundtrack.

  1. Rumble, Young Man, Rumble! - Terence Blanchard  (2:04) 
  2. Sam Cooke Comes to Stage / Copacabana Introduction - One Night in Miami Band  (0:24)
  3. Tammy - Leslie Odom Jr.  (1:46)
  4. Howl For Me Daddy -Terence Blanchard, Keb’ Mo’ and Tarriona ‘Tank’ Ball (2:25)  
  5. Do Us All Proud - Terence Blanchard  (0:45) 
  6. I Believe To My Soul - One Night in Miami Band  (1:53) 
  7. Salah Time - Terence Blanchard  (1:54) 
  8. I'm King Of The World! - Terence Blanchard  (1:13) 
  9. Put Me Down Easy - Hampton House - Leslie Odom Jr.  (0:48)
  10. Put Me Down Easy - L.C. Cooke  (2:32) 
  11. Greazee - Billy Preston  (4:21) 
  12. Ain't Yo Stuff Safe Here - Terence Blanchard  (2:07)
  13. Malcolm Looks Out The Window - Terence Blanchard  (0:53) 
  14. You Send Me - Leslie Odom Jr.  (2:49)
  15. (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons - Leslie Odom Jr.  (2:38)
  16. Brother, What Is Going On? - Terence Blanchard  (1:00) 
  17. I Wanna Damn Party - Terence Blanchard  (0:35)
  18. Lonely Teardrops - Jeremy Pope  (2:21) 
  19. Chain Gang - Leslie Odom Jr.  (2:12)
  20. Good Times - Leslie Odom Jr.  (2:30)
  21. A Change Is Gonna Come - Leslie Odom Jr.  (3:02)
  22. Speak Now - Leslie Odom Jr.  (3:37)