Keep Movin' On Vinyl


For the first time on vinyl, Keep Movin’ On, a 23-song collection that encompasses some of Cooke’s best loved and most incisive songs and represents the artist both at the very pinnacle and, tragically, at the very end of his ground breaking career. The songs that comprise Keep Movin’ On were, for the most part, written and co-produced by Sam Cooke following his successful fight for complete creative and economic control over his recordings and repertoire. The notion of artistic self-determination was an unheard-of concept for virtually any recording artist, let alone a young rhythm and blues singer in the early 1960s.

The 2-album 180g vinyl set features an essay by notable Sam Cooke biographer Peter Guralnick, written expressly for the initial CD release in 2001. Guarlnick defines Cooke’s recordings sound “as spontaneous, as elegant, as full of mirth, sadness, and surprise as when it first came out of his mouth, translating somehow across the ages in ways that have little to do with calculation or fashion and everything to do with spontaneity of feeling, with a kind of purity of soul.

• First time available on vinyl
• Includes original essay by Peter Guralnick with expanded recording session info
• Most tracks were written and co-produced by Sam Cooke
• The album includes Civil Rights anthem “A Change is Gonna Come” and title song “Keep Movin’ On,” which remained unissued in his lifetime and did not see release until this collection in 2001.
• 180g Vinyl Double-LP


LP 1
Side 1
1. (Ain’t That) Good News
2. Rome (Wasn’t Built In A Day)
3. Meet Me At Mary’s Place
4. Basin Street Blues
5. Cousin Of Mine
6. Tennessee Waltz

Side 2
7. Falling In Love
8. When A Boy Falls In Love
9. Good Times
10. Shake
11. Yeah Man
12. It’s Got The Whole World Shakin’

LP 2
Side 1
13. The Riddle Song
14. I’m Just A Country Boy
15. Try A Little Love
16. There’ll Be No Second Time
17. Another Saturday Night
18. Sugar Dumpling

Side 2
19. That’s Where It’s At
20. You’re Nobody Till Somebody Loves You
21. (Somebody) Ease My Troublin’ Mind
22. A Change Is Gonna Come
23. Keep Movin’ On